DIY: Parking Brake Adjustment ('05 6mt sedan)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-26-2007, 10:29 PM
Received 6 Likes on 2 Posts
DIY: Parking Brake Adjustment ('05 6mt sedan)

I’ve never done a DIY before so please bear with me…oh and sorry my camera sucks.

I got my ’05 6mt sedan 6 weeks ago and absolutely love it; however I almost immediately noticed that the parking brake does not seem to engage properly. 6 clicks does practically nothing and you have to literally double fist the thing to get any kind of hill holding ability. Well seeing as how you can find anything on this forum, I did a search and discovered that parking brake maladjustment seems to be a common problem with our cars. Additionally it seems that a few owners have actually had their cars roll away from them due to a weak parking brake. Determined to never let this happen to me I used a slow day at work to get my hands dirty and took a few pictures in the process. I hope this helps a few people out as it’s not a difficult procedure at all.

I used the service manual available on g35 frenzy as a reference: (http://www.g35frenzy.com/downloads/2...nual/F/pb.pdf), however I believe this is for an ’03-’04 coupe which is different from 05/06 sedans. Also, the manual is difficult to understand at times (I think it’s an English translation of the original Japanese service manual).

Here’s some real quick theory before I start. There are basically 3 steps to adjusting our parking brake. First, we need to release tension on the parking brake cable. Now, Infiniti uses a drum brake in each rear rotor for its p-brake. So each wheel is pulled, one at a time, and using the adjuster inside the rotor, the pad is fully applied and then released a few clicks. In other words, you are basically “resetting” the pad’s position on both wheels. Once the pads are properly set, the cable is retightened and that’s it.
Yes I know I talk a lot, we’re getting there.

Time: about one hour