Okay be nice! NEWB drop question...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-02-2007, 11:55 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Okay be nice! NEWB drop question...

So I'm a total newb at suspension mods, I'll admit it. So be nice guys, you all were there at one point too!!

I'm looking to finally getting around to dropping the G about an inch. Only an inch because ride quality is important to me since I like in POTHOLE USA here in the northeast. Just a small drop with some 19" volks I think would really make the G looks sweet.

So my question is what do I need to drop it? I was thinking just the Eibach springs, but I see alot of people going with Tein Coilovers. Now the price difference is HUGE, but whats the actual difference? I'm not tracking or racing, just looking for a bit better look, thats all.

Also whats a camber kit and do I need one???

Like I said, I'm a suspension newb, so bear with me!

Old 05-02-2007, 12:14 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
alot of people go with Tein 350z H-Techs(subtle drop) or S-techs which r more dramatic...u could probably get away with H-Techs and no camber kit...anything over an inch drop, ull probably need one though

Old 05-02-2007, 12:36 PM
if you go lower than an inch drop you will need a camber kit to prevent uneven wear on your tires. so lets say u drop it over an inch and you dont get back into normal suspension specs. your wheels will be slightly out of angle. your wheels after more than 1 in drop may look like this-- > / \ compared to stock specs --> | | in order to fix that angle you get a camber kit. i think i explained it right.. im kinda newb at it too
so if you go with the Tein 350z H-Techs, you wont need a camber because u can get back into specs.

Old 05-02-2007, 12:36 PM
i'm in the same spot as you. waiting for my 19's top come in, potholes everywhere in NY. I want probably like a 1" drop. I honestly don't know what the camber kit does. Let me know what you end up doing.

Old 05-03-2007, 07:31 PM