Lots of brake squeal...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-08-2008, 08:29 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Lots of brake squeal...

I bought my 04 G35 strictly as a work car, which means it gets driven, a lot. I work in sales and drive around the city all day meeting clients. I didn't want to spend a boatload of money on a car I put 25k+ miles on a year, but I also didn't want a penalty box too.

I haven't had too many problems with the car (bought it last August with 20k miles on it). The dealer has been pretty good (definitely better than my last experience with my 03 Jetta GLI), but I want to know what's going on when I bring it in.

The car currently has 35k miles on it, and I'm assuming it still has the stock pads. Are they due for replacement? I certainly don't like how much brake dust they generate. The brakes squeal quite a bit at low speed. I've never owned a car that had brake squeal. Does this mean I am due for new brake pads?

Also, is this a warranty item? And if it is, will they have pads that don't dust so much? Reason I ask is because VW replaced my pads and rotors under warranty with my last car. That was the one cool thing the dealer did... LOL

Old 04-08-2008, 10:08 PM
my brakes squeak really bad as well. I'm just wearing them down a bit more and changing them to hawks pads soon. I hear 03-04's factory brakes squeak and produce a lot of dust. Most here recommend hawks pads for less noise and dust. as goes for warranty, i doubt it~

Old 04-09-2008, 12:15 AM
Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
is it normal if the rotor is the color of rust sometimes? This only happens once awhile.

Old 04-09-2008, 12:28 AM
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
Q50 Red Sport 400 RWD
go to brake check and get a free inspection.

also, if you need pads, make sure you go with ceramic pads.

They don't dust up your front wheels like stock pads.

they perform just as good, even though the diehards will come in and say that ceramic pads are less grabby in 3,2,1..........