DIY: Adjust Rear Dampening on Aftermarket Suspension

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-09-2009, 01:35 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
DIY: Adjust Rear Dampening on Aftermarket Suspension

This is for people with aftermarket suspension with dampening adjustment ***** located at the top of the rear shock. In some cases the suspension manufacturer does not offer **** extensions or some other form of remote dampening control.

Some sedans offer access to the top of the rear shock. This guide applies to sedans with non premium rear seats (i think) and coupes

For reference (unconfirmed)
Tanabe and BC make extensions
Tein and Greddy, Tanabe have remote control EDFC type things
HKS, JIC, Bilstein have dampening ***** at the bottom

Therefore this guide is for those who didnt get the extension/remote adjustment products.

DISCLAIMER!!
I am not a mechanic.
Please feel free to offer feedback on this process to improve it!
I do not know how this will affect your alignment.
I have KW Variant 2. Your suspension might look a bit different, but the process should be more or less the same.

What you will need:
Floor Jack
Jackstands
12mm socket wrench with extender
Whatever it takes to get your wheel off
Dampening **** adjustment tool (in my case it was an allen wrench)

1. Jack up one side of your car and remove wheel
Notice that my car is sitting on the stock jack. I have a floor jack which we will use later.

2. Take a peek up there. The goal is to remove the two 12mm bolts pictured. This is where the extension on the socket wrench will come in handy since it is pretty cramped in there.

3. I forgot to take a picture of this, but before you go unbolting anything. Place the jack underneath the rear spring and compress it slightly. i am not totally sure if this is needed, but do it anyways just to be safe.