Stance & Fitment: Rear Camber Arms VS An Alignment

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-19-2011, 12:21 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Stance & Fitment: Rear Camber Arms VS An Alignment

Hi,

I'm trying to figure some last minute details for my suspsnesion adjustments before my wheels arrive. I planned on rolling with natural camber but my desire to sit PERFECTLY is growing as I get more and more picky. I'm still learning so please forgive me fi I'm missing something obvious.

*Any references to camber will be negative camber.

I understand what the purpose of camber arms are and same goes for alignment but why would you get camber arms when you can just go to an alignment shop that frequently deals with lowered cars and tell them what specific camber you want? (And they can keep your toe in spec also.) Reasoning:

1. You save money by not buying arms if you know EXACTLY how you want to sit (as in you picked correct offsets and widths right off the bat and you wont be altering ride height and adding / removing spacers often)

2. If you go with arms, then any camber adjustment you do on your own will mess with your toe, meaning that you will need an alignment anyway or toe arms

Responses I'm expecting to hear as to why one should get camber arms:

1. Once you get your wheels (assuming you want to tuck tire and close to wheel tuck), you can slam it right there and then and add the neccessary camber to not rub. This as opposed to driving possibly far to an alignment shop while rubbing / cutting into tires.

2. Convenience for when you want to add spacers or adjust ride height later on instead of having to get an alignment every single time (for people that frequently adjust their stance ).

3. If you live in an area without an inground alignment rack or if you can't fit on it.

4. More precise adjustments and a broader range of camber (going with SPL kit and setting -6 instead of taking it to an alignment shop and them not wanting to go that negative )