So I'm new to lowering...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-11-2012, 11:29 PM
Received 11 Likes on 9 Posts
So I'm new to lowering...

I've decided I want to lower my car, but I don't know how much or with what.

My first thought is to just drop in a set of S-Techs (1.2/.9) for a small drop, but I have a few Q's before I make any rushed decisions:

1. At what point would a camber kit become a necessity/good idea?

2. What are the limitations of my shocks and should I replace them when lowering, ideally?

3. What about coils ...
- How easy are they to adjust? Could I use coils and have a winter height, and then just adjust and scrap the ground for the summer? (obviously I'd want a camber kit here ... how difficult are those to adjust with the coils?) Is this kind of idea a good solution? How do shocks come into play here?

4. Any other suggestions or anything I've missed taking into account regarding dropping/springs/coils please feel free to interject.

Thanks guys

Old 02-12-2012, 07:56 AM
Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
For "1," people on here typically agree that if you drop your car 1"+ you should get a camber kit. However, some people say that you can get away with just rear camber arms and an alignment with S-techs (some are able to get back in spec or really close while others aren't, from what I've read). Personally, I'm about to put my S-techs on and am going to buy both the rear camber arms and front kit.

The following users liked this post:
Manhattan Project G (02-12-2012)
Old 02-12-2012, 09:07 AM
Received 820 Likes on 595 Posts
my friend put s-techs on with no camber kit and it ate his rear tires up bad. deff need rear camber kit.

Manhattan Project G (02-12-2012)
Old 02-12-2012, 01:26 PM
Originally Posted by theVILLE