Canada Serving Canada.

An Interesting Day **Warning, It Could Be Long**

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-15-2007 | 04:31 PM
|
Traveling Administrator
An Interesting Day **Warning, It Could Be Long**

Well I had to go into the office today to test a customer design in the lab. I am very rarely in the office on Fridays since I work a lot from home, so I am not sure if this was a blessing in disguise or not.

I was in the lab verifying a network design scenario when my Manager came in as asked if I had some time to chat. Anytime this happens you automatically think the worst and wonder what the heck you did wrong. He brought me into one of our board rooms and proceeded to tell me that another group within the company wants me to be their Operations Manager. I've been a Network Engineer for pretty much my entire career since University, so managing an entire staff and the group's activities is quite foreign to me.

I've been slightly contemplating a career move the last couple of months (which is why my Manager came to me), but really never gave it serious thought. This positions commands no more responsibility than I have now, just a different type of responsibility. Instead of being responsible for a specific Network Design for a customer, I would be responsible for an entire staff, it's financial operations, and report directly to the CEO. (Yikes )

This position offers more money, which is always nice, but hardly a deciding factor for me. I have Paternity leave scheduled for the entire month of July (which I am sooooooooo looking forward to) but if I took this position, I wouldn't be able to take my Paternity leave........which is crappy. My wife and I were planning on two trips during July......the Quebec City trip and a trip to Cape Breton. Since I've got accomodations booked for QC, I told them that I would be taking this trip regardless. Unfortunately, my Cape Breton trip would need to be squashed.