Carputer suggestions

Old 03-30-2006, 02:37 PM
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post
Carputer suggestions

Hey what's up guys! My ryde's been itching for Digital Wheelz screen but I'm not good at carputers. Is there a site I can buy a carputer completely built? I'm looking on spending only $500 on the carputer. I have an old fujitsu laptop that I cant remember the specs off the top of my head but it's over 6 years old. If I could salvage and use it along with Digital Wheelz screen, that'd be terrific! Thanks guys

Old 03-30-2006, 03:01 PM
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
You won't be able to buy any prebuilt carputer for $500. You could try and use that laptop, but laptops are a real PITA to retro into a carPC. And the fact that you said that you are not good with carputers leads me to steer you away from that option.

Old 03-30-2006, 03:25 PM
Received 42 Likes on 15 Posts
Of course I had to chime in here.

With a CarPC, you can go cheap, if you do the work yourself. Conversely, you can go expensive, and get it all done by someone. However, you can't really go cheap and not be good with computers.

Converting a laptop is a pretty big task, and would require a good bit a computer knowledge. Also, a laptop that is 6 years old will NOT have the computing horsepower to run a decent CarPC setup.

Take a look at www.mp3car.com and go to the store they have, as well as the forums. The store has some prebuilt computers, that while probably not under $500, will come pretty close to it. However, then you are looking at the DW screen for another $750, and various assorted parts, cables, etc.. are going to run at least another $250. I'm not trying to discourage you, but you need to know, going in, that it will cost more than you think, both time and effort.

All in all, it's well worth it, though, if done right.

Dave

Old 03-30-2006, 10:36 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts