Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Polish Vs. Wax

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-23-2005 | 08:27 AM
|
Polish Vs. Wax

I know this is a noob question but im a noob so here goes...

Whats the difference between polishing a car and waxing a car?

Flame away! Thanks

Old 02-23-2005 | 09:11 AM
Devil's Advocate
Polishing is basically using a very mild abrasive to clean and polish the paint. It removes swirl marks, minor scratches and oxidation. Think of it as extremely gentle sanding.

Waxing involves adding a layer of protectant over the paint to add shine and protect from the elements. It's usually a polymer or actual wax (caranuba).

Old 02-23-2005 | 02:38 PM
in addition to what was stated polish can add depth of shine and wax can give a car the wet reflective look.

Old 02-23-2005 | 05:42 PM
From: Metropolitan South Farmington, not too far from the supercity we all know as Wilmot, NS
Just a hunch, but I think Brooklyn was referring to the number of products that protect and provide gloss, but are not actually "wax". Wax is generally pretty soft, bonds loosely to the car, and is rapidly affected by the elements. Again in general, man-made polishes or protectants can have much stronger bonds and fair better against the elements. For a show car that spends most of its life inside, or under a cover, it is possible, done well, to have a spectacularly deep shine with wax, but the effort is high, and results short-lived, relatively speaking. Here's a link that compared several products, seemingly without prejudice (the author's own stuff ranked 3rd best)

http://www.nsxsc.com/nsexcitement/waxtest.html

A quick search of the web will yield other similar experiments that yielded similar results. I am biased towards the winner of the test. Having used that product since purchasing my G in Feb 03, I have been thrilled with it.