Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G35? Find out the answer in here! (View All Posts)

2006 G35 Coupe 6MT Noises

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-03-2009, 11:32 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question 2006 G35 Coupe 6MT Noises

Hey all, I just recently purchased a 2006 Red G35 Coupe 6MT .. I purchased the extra warranty of course so I'm fully covered for just about ANYTHING that could break .. well, I've been noticing some noises here and there .. I've been all over the net looking and it seems a lot of other people have small issues with the revup engine that's in my car .. I took it once already to the service department at the dealer with a list of what was wrong and they told me they could no replicate my noises (which is total BS) .. I thought I would list the three major noises here and get some feedback before taking it to another Infiniti dealer .. I'm new to this brand and this engine so I'm clueless as to what's even wrong .. any help is greatly appreciated

1. this noise only occurs when the car is WARM (has been driving for a while) and at low rpm's .. when I hit the gas I get a pinging noise that goes away after I get passed 3-4K rpm .. I did a lot of research any many people believe this is "spark knock" .. I ruled out the bad gas theory because I went to many different stations and used only the best gas at each 93 or higher .. it doesn't effect performance at all but it's soo annoying knowing that people can hear this noise when I accelerate .. it's sort of embarrassing .. some post actually said this is "normal" but I really want this noise gone

2. when starting out in first and second (only if the windows are up) I can hear, at low rpm's, what sounds like a grind .. it's soo strange and goes away when I hit higher rpm's .. I have a feeling this may tie into noise number 3, which may be my biggest problem on the car