G35 Coupe V35 2003 - 07 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Coupe

False TMS reading?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-25-2010, 12:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
False TMS reading?

Has anyone experienced their TPMS light comming on when all the tire pressures were still ok? My tires (on OEM 19s) have been at 38 lbs since new (2 months now) Last night on a 90 miles hwy drive the TPMS light came on when I was about 45 miles in. It was cold out (for AZ, 34 degrees) so I though maybe the pressure in one was low (although I've heard they have to get below 29 lbs for the light).

When I got home I immediately checked them all, and they were all at exactly 39 lbs. (double checked with 2 different dial gauges) Even if during the drive, they heated up some and went to say 41-42 lbs, is there a high pressure limit that would set off the TPMS? (even though that isn't really very high pressure). Or is a false TPMS reading a common occurrence? (I'm new to having a car with TPMS).

Last edited by Sharkroy; 01-25-2010 at 01:03 PM.
Old 01-25-2010, 01:10 PM
Just the light? If it reads low pressure it will beep/buzz at you as well. I'm pretty sure the manual says only the light will come on if the system loses contact with a sensor. I had this problem (just light no buzz), but ended up breaking one of my sensors before I could get it looked at. After that sensor was replaced and calibrated to the system, I haven't seen the light since.

Old 01-25-2010, 01:49 PM
I think just the light, although my music was up sorta loud, so I may not have heard it. I've guess as I've been reading on here that since I had new tires installed I need to reset the TPMS in some way? Is it strange that it took about 1500 miles of driving before it came on?

I certainly don't want to pay the stealership for a reset, so I'm researching on here how to DIY.

Old 01-25-2010, 01:53 PM
Have you driven today? Is it still on? If it's a low tire pressure reading, it will come on continuously