G35 Coupe V35 2003 - 07 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Coupe

MT seems like it's all over the place...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-03-2011, 11:54 PM
Received 38 Likes on 30 Posts
MT seems like it's all over the place...

ok, so i'm a pretty experienced manual driver, but i've not driven a high engagement point clutch like we have. i have an 05, for the record. most of my other stuff was in trucks.

i don't drive the car everyday. but i take it out most weekends. and i just feel like the shift points move around on me.

i try and drive smooth and relatively light on acceleration when the GF is in the car so her head doesn't flop around like wet noodle. and sometimes i am smooth and it's like i'm in an auto and other times its like it's my first day driving a stick.

same thing with when i'm driving aggressively. sometimes the shifts are nice and smooth and sometimes i get over rev, others under.

i try to pay attention to my revs and how long i've been there, but it seems like they are all over the place. i.e. running up to 3k in 3rd gear and stayin there for a second will give you more speed than if you are just running thru the gears as soon as you hit 3k.

take off is always different too. sometimes i feel like i over rev and other times i feel like it's gonna stall.

do i just need more practice or do you think there's a mechanical problem? never any grinding or slipping or rattling. maybe i'm a bit dim...i dunno. most of the other manuals i've driven i can be smooth in a couple hours and really feel like i know the tranny. (i hope i don't ever know a TRANNY though!!)

i'm thinkin about setting my shift light down to around 2500/3000 and seeing if that little visual clue will help me be more consistent.

Old 09-04-2011, 12:18 AM
Banned
Received 32 Likes on 25 Posts
Nothing you can do about it. High engagement point, notchy clutch, not so smooth ride.

Maybe convert it to a 5AT?