G35 Coupe V35 2003 - 07 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Coupe

Getting bored of vq35de

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-23-2013, 02:53 AM
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Getting bored of vq35de

Since im pretty much done modding my car from the exterior i've been wanting to put in hand into my motor and as my miles are getting high(Getting to 120K) I've been saving up to do a swap within the next year or so...I've gotten spanked by mustangs a few times(only ones I beat were rookie drivers LOL) and it irritates me a bit because me and my buddy,who drives a 06 mustang GT,caravan to work and he always woops me a**...So I've been doing searches and what on youtube but I was wondering if someone here who has experience with swaps can help me out a bit since I'm a fairly new driver on the road.I've heard the vq35HR was a great improvement...anyone have any thoughts? Also I think TC or SC would not be a good idea on a high mileage motor...would it? How will the DE do with a plenum spacer,z-tube,exhaust,hfc and a tune do up against a stang?

Old 02-23-2013, 03:00 AM
Received 96 Likes on 85 Posts
Personally if you want to go fast the g35 is not the best platform to start off with. The engine needs alot done to it to get good gains. With the same amount of bolt on money spent you would definitely get way better gains from a EVO for example, a 4 cylinder. In the end if you got the money go ahead & SC/TC it or just get a mustang if thats your thing.

Old 02-23-2013, 03:05 AM
Originally Posted by BowWizzel
Personally if you want to go fast the g35 is not the best platform to start off with. The engine needs alot done to it to get good gains. With the same amount of bolt on money spent you would definitely ge9t way better gains from a EVO for example, a 4 cylinder. In the end if you got the money go ahead & SC/TC it or just get a mustang if thats your thing.