G35 Coupe V35 2003 - 07 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Coupe

Speeding ticket and issues in Orange County, CA...PLEASE HELP!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-06-2005, 01:58 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Speeding ticket and issues in Orange County, CA...PLEASE HELP!

hi guys, i'm a newbie, bought my car about two months ago and got a speeding ticket about 2 weeks ago.

i live in orange county, california, and i got the ticket going on the 1-5 north in anaheim.
i need some help in legal matters, to see if i can beat it.
here's the story:

i was doing about 100 on the freeway when i came up behind a cop car. at that point i was slowing down to 80 something and switching to the next left lane (he and i were in the second right lane) when i realized it was a cop car. in my stupidity i didn't step on the brakes but just let go of the gas as i passed him. he probably saw me in the rear mirror coming up on him really fast, so he tailed me.

the main point of my arguement is, as he switched lanes to tail me, i had already slowed down to about 70, and was at about 65 by the time he gunned me or whatever.

he must have not gotten a good reading as he tailed me for about 20 seconds before flashing his lights.
he wrote me up doing 80 on a 65 zone.
the explanation he gave me was he saw me coming up really fast on him while he was doing "72 mph."
i know this couldn't be right as he was in the slow lane and was behind 3 cars so they knew not to go over the limit, and i myself remember being at about 65-70 at when he tailed me.

i've heard that here in california most cops patrolling hardly use radar or lasers, but data logs of how fast they are going in comparison to speeders (or at least the good cops who've passed this training).

i want to know if my case that he did not have actual evidence of me speeding (as i had already slowed down when he tailed and gunned me, if he was using a radar/laser gun) is strong enough in court to get off this ticket.