G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

New g35 owner....with questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-17-2008, 12:51 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
New g35 owner....with questions

Hey guys, newbie here with some questions. I just bought a 2006 g35 sedan with the premium package and 46k miles. My biggest concern is the car revs more than any other car i've driven just to be going from a to b. Let me explain....the car changes into second gear in no less than 3000 rpms and when it changes into second at those rpm's it kinda sling-shots you ahead and I immediately have to hit the brakes not to hit the person in front of me. This is a pain when your just trying to get across an intersection or something and trying to dodge having the car shift into second. Again, this is just barely into the throttle meaning just giving it enough gas to get up to speed. Second and third gears are similar but not like first gear gets ringed out. The transmission pulls hard and locks tight when its needed so its not like a slipping issue. I was just curious if these cars have transmissions that "learn" your driving style and the car had "learned" the driving habits of the monkeys that drove it at the dealership. The reason I say this is the dealership drove it 1,000 miles while in their possession and all the salesmen there came up to me while I was signing the papers saying "you will love that car, it will fly!!" I hope it will learn to relax on the rpm's and do it fast. My brother has an 04 maxima and my parents have an 05 3.5 altima and both shift normally. I'm just curious if it seems normal or if something I need to have looked out, i've only had it 5 days. I do love the car, I figured it would ride better than it does but it still isn'tl bad...my brothers maxima seems much cushier. I also have a dreaded rattle from the back seat somewhere that I seen others here have so I will go to work on that also. Car is massively different than my 06