G35 Sedan V36 2007- 08 Discussion about the 2nd Generation G35 Sedan 2007 - 08

DIY: hardwire droid or any other USB device

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-20-2011, 04:42 PM
Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts
DIY: hardwire droid or any other USB device

I originally thought I could just buy an invisicord, and solder it onto a micro USB plug and hardwire it directly into my droidx car mount. After doing some research, i realized that USB runs on 5v, while the homelink mirror runs on 12v. So had i plugged it in, my phone would have blown up....

I searched for DIYs everywhere on how to hook up a micro/mini/usb device such as a phone using the homelink mirror, and could not find any.

So here is what i did for those of you interested (btw, just covering my *** here but i am NOT responsible if you screw something up or if this did not work out for you. I am no engineer, i did watch every MacGyver episode ever made AND stayed at a holiday inn express, but that doesnt make me a engineer):

1. Find the appropriate cord for your device. Mine was a droid x, which runs on a micro USB cable. I took this one from an old blackberry i had.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

2. Take the green and white cables, which are for USB data, and connect them together to complete a circuit (expose the metal in the cables and twist them together). By doing this, the phone will recognize the cable as a CHARGING cable, not a sync cable. Tape up the green and white cable so they do not touch the red or black cable.

3. you need one of these :
Amazon Amazon

this is what actually takes the 12v power source from the homelink mirror and turns it down to 5v so your phone doesnt short out. It comes with one end exposed with a red and black cable, and the other end that has a mini usb. we need to remove the mini usb since the droid uses a micro USB.