G35 Sedan V36 2007- 08 Discussion about the 2nd Generation G35 Sedan 2007 - 08

On the track ...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-06-2012 | 09:30 PM
|
On the track ...

The title said it all. Brought the car to the track and had an awesome day.

The following users liked this post:
totopo (08-08-2012)
Old 08-07-2012 | 02:14 AM
Looks like you had fun

Old 08-08-2012 | 02:47 AM
very nice! first time at the track with your G? what are your overall impressions of the g after tracking?

Old 08-08-2012 | 12:27 PM
Yay, always love seeing more people take the g35 to track. Which track?

Consider putting in your front tow hook in case something happens and you need a tow.

stockae92 (08-08-2012)
Old 08-08-2012 | 02:41 PM
|
It was my first time on the track with the G. The track was willow streets.

And here's what I think about it (disclaimer: I am no expert or pro, so I hope what I said makes sense ):

- I drove most of the course in 3rd gear. The only time that I really need to put it in 2nd was the last turn, otherwise the RPM will drop to about 2.5k and have a slow start on the straight a way. I did the down shift a few corners earlier because those corners were kinda tight. The traction control won't light up when I am driving the course in 3rd gear. It only lights up when I was down shifting to 2nd. And yes, I kept the "baby-sitter" on the whole time but I don't think she interfered. Maybe I will switch it off next time when I have more experience with the car on the track.

- The (sports) brakes were adequate but not fantastic. I have Hawk HPS pads on them. I don't think the track was very demanding on the brakes. I experienced no brake faint or lost in braking power during the session. I do wonder if the brakes are going to hold up well if I am going to the big track of button willow (which should be a lot more demanding on the brakes since you have more long straight a way)