General Tech Questions This Forum is Only for Questions and Posts that Do Not fit under the other Tech categories.(No Classified Posts)

Cat education?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-06-2018, 11:51 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cat education?

I'm buying a G35X tomorrow that is throwing a code for right cat. If I can't clear it with seafoam and have to replace it.... if I buy a set of Berks high-flow I should do both of them or just change the right?? This car is a normal commuter car will those high-flow cats be okay and is there a better quality I should be buying for the price? Any and all advice greatly appreciated..im just learning.

Old 04-06-2018, 12:43 PM
Received 57 Likes on 55 Posts
I believe they only come in pairs, but you would definitely want to replace both at the same time. If one is gone, the other will be on its way out, plus it would mean less exhaust flow on one bank of the engine which could cause weird problems. If you just want to get rid of the SES light, you can install non-fouler extensions between the cat and o2 sensor, but if you are in an emissions checked area AND they put the sniffer on your exhaust pipe, you might still fail. From what I've read on here and other G/Z forums, Berks is the highest quality HFC, but I have no personal experience with them. Check youtube clips of Berks on stock exhaust to hear what it will sound like. I believe it'll be a little louder, but not too much.

Good luck!

Edit: Also check out this thread, you can probably get a better deal from a forum sponsor

Old 04-06-2018, 01:04 PM
BANNED!!!

Received 2,456 Likes on 2,150 Posts
Coupe 6MT Premium RAS
Having the exact code would help since there are upstream (A/F) and downstream O2 sensors.

Old 04-06-2018, 02:41 PM
Tks

Thank you I will have a sensor tomorrow and will check the codes myself

Old 04-06-2018, 03:39 PM
Received 1,132 Likes on 1,002 Posts
Originally Posted by Retjami