New Members Check In If you're new to G35Driver, please take a moment to sign-in, introduce yourself and show us your G35!!

2 major problems

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-22-2022, 08:01 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Bone stock
2 major problems

Hello I am new to the forum and own a 2003 350z wich has a g35 engine on it from a previous owner. It is my first car and I have two issues. I see light white smoke coming out of my engine bay wich may be caused by oil ontop of the exhaust system ,oil is good and even other fluid is too. It mostly comes out of the back of the engine . I also have a weird ticking noise when decelerating that just happened this morning; I am no mechanic nor have experience and leaving it at a shop is a no because its my daily driver. Any ideas why it happens?? I appreciate the help.(Update) the ticking noise comes from beneath the car behind the engine and it didn't happen alot,but now it happens when going slow or being in gear when in traffic I do not hear it when going any faster than 15 and when I park it sometimes it ticks sometimes it doesn't. I've read that its common with high mileage z's (193,797 miles on mine) Any advice???

Last edited by Datboiwithda350; 08-29-2022 at 08:22 PM.
Old 07-22-2022, 01:00 PM
BANNED!!!

Received 2,469 Likes on 2,161 Posts
Coupe 6MT Premium RAS
The smoke is probably a leaking valve cover. Get a telescoping inspection mirror and a good flashlight and look around for where it's coming from.

As for the ticking, check your oil level again to make sure it's good. Is the ticking coming from the engine area?

Old 07-22-2022, 02:52 PM
Bone stock
Originally Posted by cleric670
The smoke is probably a leaking valve cover. Get a telescoping inspection mirror and a good flashlight and look around for where it's coming from.

As for the ticking, check your oil level again to make sure it's good. Is the ticking coming from the engine area?