Southern California San Diego, Los Angeles, Orange County, Inland Empire, etc.

Has anyone gone to Big Bear with the G recently?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-04-2012, 06:49 PM
Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts
Has anyone gone to Big Bear with the G recently?

This is my first time going there. I was wondering what are the road conditions like? Are there any places I should stop by or shouldn't stop by.

Old 02-05-2012, 11:45 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Did it on the week before christmas. Almost died. lol

Road condition report that day was clear. Took a friend for snowboarding at snow summit. Left early in the morning. Bad Idea since I was using my G coupe on summer tires.

On a straight section, I noticed my car started tilting sideways to the left. I panicked a little bit and almost slam my brake. I downshifted and give a little gas while trying to steer to the right while my car still sliding to the left side.

At this time I'm already in the oncoming lane and still sliding sideways. I was slow enough that finally I hit a pile of snow on the side of the road before I stopped. My friend was scared shitless. Thank god it was early in the morning so no oncoming car going down the road.

I drop the gear to first and got away from oncoming lane as soon as I can. My friend almost cried and she asked if I did that on purpose. I told her I was scared as hell too.

So yeah....it's been clear but be cautious for black ice when you heading early morning.

Old 02-05-2012, 10:48 PM
Received 1,133 Likes on 1,003 Posts
As you can tell it's a very bad idea until spring. Would you really like to put chains on your G? Unless you're running OE tires without mods, then I'd still rent a car for the day. We've seen this Big Bear trip question before and the answer is always the same...Gary

Old 02-06-2012, 01:16 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by ichigoismyhomie
Did it on the week before christmas. Almost died. lol