Total Noob at tuner question

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-11-2008, 01:43 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Total Noob at tuner question

Hey, Soo I know absolutely nothing about tuning and any of this but i hear it thrown around alot.. So basically I am wondering what exactly it does and if I should get one? My mods are listed in my sig and I'm not really planning on doing very much more to my engine.. just maybe add sway bars and new springs down the road. I never track my car and certainly dont consider it a ricer, so Is it really necessary to tune my car?

Also random question but does advancing the timing +2 give gains for 6mt as well as 5at?

Old 12-11-2008, 02:19 PM
Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts
when you modify your engine with performance parts, your air to fuel ratio can be affected and this is why you would need to get your engine/ecu tuned to get peak performance and ensure your car is running efficiently. When you have more air than the ideal air to fuel ratio, you would be considered to as running "lean." On the other hand, if you are running with more fuel in than the ideal air to fuel ratio, you are running "rich."

Old 12-11-2008, 02:34 PM
Originally Posted by nghiars
when you modify your engine with performance parts, your air to fuel ratio can be affected and this is why you would need to get your engine/ecu tuned to get peak performance and ensure your car is running efficiently. When you have more air than the ideal air to fuel ratio, you would be considered to as running "lean." On the other hand, if you are running with more fuel in than the ideal air to fuel ratio, you are running "rich."
So how do you know which you are running? Am I due for a tune then?

Old 12-11-2008, 02:47 PM
Received 13 Likes on 8 Posts
The VQ tends to run lean up until around 4k, then it starts to run rich.

Old 12-11-2008, 02:51 PM
Originally Posted by twin001
The VQ tends to run lean up until around 4k, then it starts to run rich.