V36 General Tech Questions Questions and Posts that Do Not fit under the other Tech catagories

VDC and Snow Mode, What do I need to know?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-28-2008, 12:13 PM
Received 13 Likes on 11 Posts
VDC and Snow Mode, What do I need to know?

Hey guys, I'm new to this kind of car, especially AWD, It was my first snow day driving with the G35X. I feel I'm missing something.

So it snowed the other day and I DID NOT have snow mode on. The VDC is always on. I was told (or so i thought) that this car would automatically sense slippage of the rear wheels and then engage the front wheels to compensate. This did not happen and my rear end started to fish tail all over the place. I then looked down and said to myself "hey stupid, press the SNOW button, it's snowing outside". NOW I got traction and I could feel all 4 wheels doing their thing, no more fishies.

So what I'm asking is: what is VDC? and what is it supposed to do. What is snow mode doing? and what happens if I turn off VDC?

I've been searching through the forums and I haven't found a really clear-cut answer on this.
Thanks guys.

Old 01-28-2008, 02:00 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
VDC = Vehicle Dynamic Control

Think of it as an advanced form of traction and stability control. If the car detects wheel slippage, it'll cut power to that wheel and apply that power towards the wheels that it detects have the most traction. I also believe (but don't quote me on this) that VDC can also apply the brakes to individual wheels to help stabilize the vehicle if it senses that its beginning to drift or move out of control.