Wheels & Tires Grabbing the road and stopping.

Akebono ceramic brake pads

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-31-2004, 10:19 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Akebono ceramic brake pads

I am considering these brake pads. Has anyone had any experience with these pads, G35 or other cars?

2004 G35X

Old 05-31-2004, 09:06 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Re: Akebono ceramic brake pads

I don't have experience with the pads you're looking at, however, I have replaced my front pads with EBC Greenstuff pads and they are very good on the G. Very little brake dust compared with OEM and the same peddle feel as OEM. I have been extremely happy with these pads.

Good luck.....

Old 05-31-2004, 10:11 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Ceramin pads are harder than your rotors (most of the time) and will cause the rotors to heat up and warp. If you don't have rotors to match, you most likely will tear the rotors up. I am not a brake expert, but I had tried ceramics twice and had the same issues both times. When I had taken the car in to get new rotors (both times) the mechanics told me that the ceramics are only for high-performance cars that already have rotors to handle ceramic pads or if you upgrade to rotors that can handle ceramic pads. I am not saying don't do it, but just check into it first.

I just got the Metal Matrix pads from stillen and they are awesome. No break dust either. The Hawk HPS are good too.

’03 G35S 6MT, black/black:
-Zex n20 Kit 150-shot & Bottle Opener
-Amsoil Air/Oil Filters & Oil
-Digital Nitrous Pressure Gauge & A/F Switch/Gauge
-Pressure-based Bottle Warmer
-MSD Window Switch

Old 06-01-2004, 08:33 AM

Ceramics have a differing wear vs temp vs friction curve from semi metallics.
They tend for wear less cold [below 450F] and wear more hot above 450F. They generally have lower friction coefficients above 600-700F than semi metallics.

Over the counter ceramics are more for cold street [below 450F] than hotter performance driving.