Wheels & Tires Grabbing the road and stopping.

A lesson on rim prestige please

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-18-2004, 11:36 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
A lesson on rim prestige please

I am just getting into the market for a new set of rims ... I am curious as to how the labels pan out, I know the popular brands like BBS, WORK and VOLK, but am curious of some more AFFORDABLE brands that do not compromise quality--AXIS comes to mind, are there any others ? I am just curious of the whole spectrum of brands that are out there!

THANKS!

If you have some 19s that you want to sell... let me know

Old 10-19-2004, 02:38 AM
Received 11 Likes on 5 Posts
Sedan
Re: A lesson on rim prestige please

Of the more affordable brand rims I think AXIS is one of the better lines, IMO.

Old 10-19-2004, 10:38 AM

i'd skip over Axis and go directly to Enkei, they are a quality wheel and very inexpensive.

Old 10-19-2004, 11:05 AM

posts like this basically mean that you need to do some more research to find out how all these different manufacturers produce their wheels and if you are going to be happy with the quality of wheels they make at the prices they sell them for...

I know for me, my priorities are 1) forged/quality construction; 2) somewhat lightweight; 3) somewhat affordable; 4) variety of widths/offsets; 5) name recognition (in that order)

I'll rank some popular wheels according to how they fit my prerequisites:

HRE - love the 540R - WAY out of my price range however - best fitment available regardless of application
BBS - awesome wheels with the most prestigious racing heritage - great combination of weight/strength - lots of choices of mesh wheels, but my favorite (RS-GT) is a little pricey
Work - Best wheels made in Japan - the VS-XX is one of my favorite wheels of all time - price through GB is reasonable
IForged - love the Swifts and the new finish they have - hyper anthracite - price through GB a steal for custom forged wheels