Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

new to detailing, need suggestions ☺

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-22-2014, 09:37 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
new to detailing, need suggestions ☺

Hey guys im new to detailing. I have a 2007 black g35x sedan and want to get rid of swirls, light scratches and most of all, water spots. I never used a buffer and i want to invest in one along with a bunch of chemical guys products!!*

I need a few suggestions on what i should buy. Like i said i never used a buffer before and would love to get good at it to make my car pop!! Whats a good quality buffer to invest it? I want something that will last and I will pay whatever amount for It. I'm tired of using the standard autozone brush, I've heard that It scratches the heck out of your car, you guys have any ideas on what kind of mitt or sponge I should invest in too? Also, what are some good products from chemical guys to get my black cars paint popping again? THANKS IN ADVANCE!!!!

Old 09-22-2014, 09:56 AM
Super Moderator

Received 1,018 Likes on 936 Posts
Check out the detailing sub forum. It has a great read by a past member named Picus. Pretty much making paint pop is to compound out old scratches... Waxes only protect perfect paints.

Old 09-22-2014, 12:25 PM
Received 45 Likes on 43 Posts
What autozone brush are you washing your car with?

To wash, I use a thick/plush microfiber mitt, two of them, and two buckets, with grit guards.

For the money and availability, I use Meguiar's Ultimate Compound, Meg's Ult Polish, and Meg's Ult Wax applied with a Meg's DA polisher applied with foam pads.

I stay away from rotary polishers and wool pads. The work great in the right hands, but too easy to mess the paint up if in the wrong hands.

Meg's DA is a little light on the power, I will replace it with a Porter Cable 7424 when it burns up.