Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio

OEM Bose system amp(s) and speaker configuration questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-18-2009, 05:35 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
OEM Bose system amp(s) and speaker configuration questions

Hi everyone. New member here, but owned my coupe since it was new in 2004. I found great info here to address my power window issue, and am now looking into addressing my developed needs for a better audio system.

I first just want a better understanding of the basics of how the current Bose system works. I am a complete novice at car audio. So I only want the simplest explainations. I would appreciate input on the following curiosities of mine:

1. I know there is a amplifier in the rear of the car, by the spare tire, and it powers the subwoofers in the rear dash. Does that same amp also power the other speakers in the car? Or is there another amp in the front to do this? Or how are the other speakers connected?

2. Will an aftermarket HU be a plug & play to the stock amp(s) and speakers? (I know this won't address sound issues, again, just curious as to how the different components of the Bose system work with each other.)

3. Will it affect the rest of the system in any way if I remove the rear Bose amp (a source of the sound issues I am aware) and replace it with a basic aftermarket amp that powers a small sub? (other than the obvious outcome of losing the stock rear subs)

4. Since the Bose amp is described as sub-par, will it be beneficial to replace it with aftermarket without replacing any speakers? I don't want to have to add any components in the trunk area (other than possibly an amp in the stock location)

Old 11-18-2009, 05:47 PM
Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts
Originally Posted by naef