Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio

Option A, B, or C???

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-10-2010, 07:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Option A, B, or C???

I'm new to the G scene, just purchased an 03 w/ Bose Coupe and I need some stereo advice because I am honestly quite confused. The way I see it I have 3 options and before I go out buying and committing to things I need to know which I am going to be the happiest with.

Current system:
Headunit: Pioneer DD AVIC-X710BT
Speakers: All factory Bose
Amp: Bose
With this setup, I can have the headunit turned all the way up and still have a conversation over the audio. From what I've read that is because the Bose amp with the aftermarket HU doesn't like the signal like it likes from the factory.

Option A:
5 channel JL amp powering the FACTORY doors, FACTORY rear sides, and 1 JL 10" (rear deck speakers removed as recommended)

Option B:
5 channel JL amp powering upgraded comps front, upgraded rear sides, and 1 JL 10" (rear deck speakers removed as recommended)

Option C:
Sub amp only powering JL 10" while leaving factory Bose amp/speakers in place?

I don't want to spend more than I need to but if it's going to require the purchase for me to be happy then I will. I guess my main question through all of this is: will powering the Bose speakers from an aftermarket amp sound like garbage or will it make them sound more like they were supposed to from the factory headunit?

Old 11-10-2010, 08:30 PM
I'm no expert, but check out this link:

https://g35driver.com/forums/audio-v...urce-list.html

...and read the first section of this:
https://g35driver.com/forums/5036315-post3.html

If you purchase the PAC ROEM-NIS2 from amazon (
Amazon Amazon
) you should be able to keep your factory speakers and amp and it will work with your aftermarket head unit.

This should be the cheapest solution to fix your situation.