Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio

For those of you with a cubby mounted phone/GPS...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-28-2011, 05:16 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
For those of you with a cubby mounted phone/GPS...

For those of you with a cubby [above the headunit] mounted phone/GPS... where did you guys drill the hole for the wire? (i.e. towards the front or back? bottom surface or the right wall of the cubby?)

Also, what am I supposed to use to prevent the wire from slipping through the drilled hole and being lost in the abyss forever? I'm hoping to make this a clean install; if you guys have pics of the wiring (don't really need pics of the mount as I might just drill two small screws in the cubby lid) I'd greatly appreciate it.

Lastly, since I have no experience with wires and soldering; I've decided that for power, I will connect my phone charger in the arm rest then route the wire to the upper cubby. How long should the USB cable be to be efficient? Can I use a curled wire [as I already have an OEM car charger with curled wire attached] or do I have to buy an extended straight USB cable?

Thank you in advance.

Old 02-28-2011, 06:54 PM
Gentle Manne of Leisure

Received 1,038 Likes on 611 Posts
Put the hole where it won't be seen, towards the "front" of the cubby (so towards the rear of the car) towards (not on) the bottom, since you want to keep the bottom solid. Keep the connectors from falling through by cutting a piece large enough for the connector out, notching that piece of it for the cable, and then glue the larger chunk back in place.

Soldering would be a far better option, and soldering two wires together is about as easy as it gets, so it's a good opportunity to learn. Just pick up an add-on cigarette lighter socket and solder it to the cigarette lighter socket's power wires.

Old 02-28-2011, 10:40 PM
Originally Posted by Wrathernaut