DIY Request: Bleeding clutch fluid

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-02-2009, 12:14 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
DIY Request: Bleeding clutch fluid

I want to undertake this, as my fluid seems to be shot. It gains and loses viscosity too easily, resulting in a squishy pedal when the car gets really hot, and a very stiff pedal when the weather is cold outside. I realize some viscosity change is normal, but I've been driving manuals for a good 8 years now, and this is definitely excessive.
Now, I'm assuming the bleeder would be on the slave somewhere, which should be located on the transmission. What I want to know is, is it in an easily accessible spot? Also, where would I add fluid? I haven't seen a clutch fluid reservoir in the bay anywhere.
I'm not entirely opposed to just paying to have it done, but I'm already doing a coilover install and brake job, so the car will be up on jack stands for some time anyway, so I figured I'd do as much as I can myself.

Old 02-07-2009, 03:55 PM
Don't pay to have it done! I just did mine today... way too easy to pay for! Once you get the car jacked up you'll see the slave cylinder, I think it was next to the left cat. It's a little hidden but once you see it the bleeder valve is right there in plain sight.

You'll need a 7mm wrench (i think it was 7), some DOT2 brake fluid, and a clear piece of tubing about 1/8" in diameter. Also a container for the old fluid.You will also need someone to help

1. There is ample room to get up there and stick a wrench on the valve then secure a clear piece of tubing over the outlet.

2. Locate the reservoir, it is right next to the brake reservoir. It's a small cylinder about 2" high and has a hose that leads directly to the master cylinder. Wipe down the lid then remove the lid.

3. Get under yur car and have yur helper pump the clutch pedal 5x then hold it to the floor. Open the bleeder valve and a spurt of fluid will come out and travel down the tube.