Care & Detailing Washing, waxing, cleaning, caring.

Where to buy pad in Long Island NY

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-03-2007, 07:41 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Where to buy pad in Long Island NY

Does anybody know a good car detailing place where I can buy pads for the PC 7336 in Long Island NY?

Since I'm new to using a porter cable I would like to see the pads / backing plates before buying just to see what the differences are.

Thanks

Old 01-03-2007, 09:42 AM
I think you can try Pauls Distributors in Freeport. I believe he has some Meguires and forgot the other brand. Small store, but it's the only detailing supply place I know of. The only other option is Body Shop supply stores. Chroma Paint in Hicksville has some, but selection is very limited. Your best bet is to go on Autopia and get some feedback from guys. Most guys like the lake country pads. Try looking on Danase.com, Exceldetail.com, etc. I have ordered from both places and both offer exceptional service that goes above and beyond the rest!

Old 01-03-2007, 10:32 AM
Thanks Diesel.

I just picked up a 2007 G35 so the paint is in excellent condition. The paint color is Blue Slate which I've noticed some light swirl marks. I'd like to get rid of them and put a sealer on while the weather is still decent.

I've been doing some research and I'm leaning towards the Menzerna products, especially the Menzerna FMJ. Since I'm still new to this, after washing the car I would use a polish to remove the swirl marks and then apply the FMJ sealer?

Which pads do I use with each and what speed do I put the PC on?

Usually I'm not so nervous about working on the car but since it's brand new and I plan on using products that I'm not familiar with I'm a little hesitant. I used to be a wash and wax type of guy but wax doesn't last that long so I've been researching other products.

Any opinions would be greatly appreciated!

Old 01-03-2007, 06:32 PM