Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G35? Find out the answer in here! (View All Posts)

My first oil change...hooray!!!!!!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-15-2008, 06:41 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
My first oil change...hooray!!!!!!!

Sorry, I know a lot of veterans are here but let newbie do some talking. My warranty is about to expire so I figure I'll do my own oil change now instead of getting rape at Infiniti for $50 bucks.

Since I am a newbie, not finding the right sockets, spilling oil from the pan, jacking up the wrong place, I ended up taking 2+ hours to do my oil change. Hoping to do it in 1 hour next time.

At first I couldn't find the front garage point and instead jacked it up where the green area is so the car was a bit lop sided. Then I finally found the garage point in the middle. I hope I didn't screw anything up.

Do you guys use the funnel to catch the oil when you drain it? I didn't and when the oil slowed down it drip onto the side of the oil catcher pan.

Ended up having to wash garage afterward. The splash guard was such a pain. I did torque the drain plug and used a new washer. I had problem torquing the oil filter so I ended up hand twisting it.

Result: $26 buck Mobile 1 Synthetic, $6.50 Napa Gold filter.

$32.50 Synthetic oil change vs Infiniti $50 for conventional oil.

With Synthetic I plan to change oil every 6 months now. Is that ok? I probably drive about 3,000 to 3,500 miles in 6 months.

Also, some mentioned you had to jack up the rear for the remaining oil. But I didn't jack up the front high (2nd notch of the jack stand) since mines is AWD and the filter is in the front. I was able to stretch and get to the filter and drain plug without really needing to go all the way under the car. So when I lift up the back, there's wasn't much remaining oil at all. Almost nothing so I probably won't even jack up the rear next time.