Engine, Drivetrain & Forced-Induction Have Technical Questions or Done Modifications to the G35? Find out the answer in here! (View All Posts)

Building an M3 killer....

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-28-2009, 06:43 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Building an M3 killer....

I've been a G35 owner for years. Started with an 06 coupe and just recently traded it in for an 08 35x. I really miss the looks of the coupe, but I live where we receive a fair amount of snow each year and my wife complained it was a pain to get the kids in and out of the coupe (Yeah - I'm probably whipped). The 35x seemed to be more "pratical" while still a fun car to drive.

Anyway, a friend recently purchased an 06 BMW M3. The thing is QUICK! I'm interested in building something to beat it. Its an ego thing.

I am not a techie. I just like to drive like a bat outta hell. I know the 35x is much heavier than the 35/37 coupe and that the all wheel drive mucks around with power distribution to the wheels etc. How much of a speed penalty does the all wheel drive aspect of the 35x introduce when talking about mods? Is it even worth considering when thinking about beating a rear wheel drive M3?

If it is something possible, are there recommendations on how to start. I'm not going to be able to do the work myself. As much as I would love to, I'd end up causing more damage than good. I've been reading through the forums; seeing a ton of discussion around forced induction / turbos, spacers, voltage increases, etc. I can spend a few grand on the mods. Probably $3 to $5k. Any advice on where / what to start? Also, any recommendations on a good mod shop in the Detroit area?

Alternatively, for the same money, I can probably get into a g37 MT6 vs the 35x, but then I won't have anything left for mods. I also wouldn't be able to beat the M3....

I'd appreciate some advice. Thanks in advance.

Old 01-28-2009, 06:57 AM