Forced Induction Discussion of turbos , superchargers , and nitrous upgrades on the G35

Long Term Reliability With Supercharger

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-31-2014, 08:44 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Long Term Reliability With Supercharger

What experience have people had with intercooled supercharger systems and G35's?

I have lots of experience with engines designed/engineered for forced inductions and long term reliablity, but a relatively high compression engine and boost/pump fuel scares me a little. I am not looking for the "I just put mine on and it's awesome" response. I am looking for the "I installed mine 4 years ago and put 100k miles on it response."

Old 07-31-2014, 08:54 AM
Received 995 Likes on 727 Posts
You are asking way too broad of a question to get a real answer. There are several different superchargers available for the G35, and multiple versions of each in some cases. Plus not everyone installs the same or any supporting mods. Not everyone maintains their vehicle in the same way or drives it the same. Finally not all cars are created equal. Even if you install exact same kit and mods on same cars, they may have different results. But there are many many people that have ran FI on their G35 for years without any issues. There are also some that blew their motors in first month.

To put it in simple terms. If you buy a Stillen, Vortech, or Procharger, install all recommended supporting mods and maintain it properly, odds are in your favor, that you will never have an issue. But when it comes to modifing a car, nothing is ever guaranteed. There is always a chance something could happen, so always ensure you have enough cash in reserves to rebuild an engine.

Old 07-31-2014, 08:55 AM
Super Moderator

Received 1,016 Likes on 935 Posts
These superchargers can go either way really. If you build the block you better expect it to last most of your years enjoying it. Stock block under high compression is going to blow eventually.