G35 Coupe V35 2003 - 07 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Coupe

Wheel Install - Is it hard?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-20-2003, 09:21 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Wheel Install - Is it hard?

This is my first time having to have to put on winter wheels and tires. I plan on doing it this weekend. I would like to do it myself.

The tires are installed and balanced on the wheels. Is there anything special I need to know about? Should I use the stock jack and do each wheel one at a time or buy a different kind of jack? Do you need to grease the wheels or anything?

Also, can I store the 18's summer wheels and tires stacked on top of one another and in a cold shed or should they be kept in a heated environment.

Thanks.

Old 11-20-2003, 09:30 AM
Re: Wheel Install - Is it hard?

i've read in other posts that the recessed wells where the bolts sit scratch very easily! be sure to tape them off and use the hand crank not an air gun.

don't start no sh*t, won't be no sh*t!

Old 11-20-2003, 11:38 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

You can do them one at a time.

If you haven't done it before, set the parking brake and start on a rear wheel first.

Jack it up, remove the bolts, put the new wheel on, and hand-tighten the 5 bolts. Then, with your socket wrench, tighten them up a little at a time in a star pattern (basically, moving clockwise around the lug nuts, skipping over one each time). This way you apply pressure from the rim to the brake rotor evenly. If you tighten one bolt up real tight before doing the other 4, you can warp the wheel or rotor.