G35 Coupe V35 2003 - 07 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Coupe

JDM steering wheel swap

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-09-2012 | 03:02 PM
|
JDM steering wheel swap

Before I start: If you're going to say crap about my car being "converted" with emblems then just keep it to yourself. To each their own. I've already heard it all, but it really boils down to who owns the car and what the hell they want to do with it. "Only Honda guys do that!" Well, I came from a swapped 97 Civic hatchback and a '91 S13, so I guess I still have that Honda crap inside in me.

With that said, I am picking up my friend's Nissan 350GT steering wheel. Currently, I have the exterior rebadged, even the center caps, and am working on the interior. And no, I'm a college student, so I don't have the funds or patience to do EVERYTHING all at once. As far as I know, the only parts that I have to swap over are the seats (which I'll temporarily fix with leather-like seat covers soon), the clock, door sills, engine cover, and of course the steering wheel. I've probably forgotten a thing or two, but those are the only noticeable ones that come to mind at the moment.

ANYWAYS, onto my main question: how hard is it to swap steering wheels? As far as I know, I'd have to take everything apart even if all I wanted to do was swap the cover -- at least that's what two different tuner shops have told me. I'd like to do this myself with a pair or two of helping hands if possible.

One thing that just came to mind (and I'm surprised I didn't think of it sooner) is to just get an aftermarket steering wheel. However, I've already planned on getting this one since I friend had it lying around after he starting building his car for track use. So how hard would it be?

Old 06-09-2012 | 04:17 PM