G35 Coupe V35 2003 - 07 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Coupe

Car stalls when idling in drive automatic

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-15-2022, 10:24 PM
Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Infiniti G35 Coupe 2005 Gray
Car stalls when idling in drive automatic

Hi I have an automatic G35 coupe 2005 and my car randomly died twice while waiting at a light. I decided to clean my TB and MAF as I was installing a new plenum spacer. I haven't had a problem since until now as the problem has happened again. I cleaned my MAF sensor today as I felt I didn't clean it properly before and yet it died. I followed videos online that told me to do the idle relearn and ECU reset so I believe it shouldn't because of that. My guess is that maybe I have a vacuum leak but my car seems to drive fine and no CEL.

Old 06-16-2022, 09:10 AM
Received 29 Likes on 23 Posts
G35 Manual
I'm still pretty new to the G35, but it seems like there are a lot of things that can affect the idle like that where it is dropping too low:

1 - vacuum leak - check every hose for hardness and even small cracks in the hose, like PCV and it's hose, the hose that leads into the air intake
2 - Valve cover to valve cover hose - if cracked this can affect it.
3 - valve cover gaskets AND the spark plug gaskets - I see a lot of people change the valve cover gasket and not the spark plug tube gaskets, and you can often see they have shrunk enough to cause a small leak.
4 - intake manifold - I don't think the metal gasket is usually the problem, but the bolts could possibly be not quite tight enough
5 - Upstream air/fuel (o2) sesnsor - When these get lazy or are almost dead, at least in my experience, no error is thrown, it has to be really dead to error out. So for this one, I would see if you can read live data to see how lazy it is before replacing.

These are the primary items I have found besides what you have done. Cleaning the MAF and the other items you have done all make sense as well.