G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

Tranny Swap?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-03-2006, 08:41 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Tranny Swap?

Hi All,

OK, I know I am a noob here and you'll probably think I am crazy, but I am seriously considering converting my 5AT over to a 6MT. When I bought my 2004 there just wasn't a 6MT to be had in all of socal. I had considered going out of state to get the the MT but when my Maxima finally died I settled on a Leather AT. I have done some work to this car and some damage so I doubt I could get enough out of it to sell it and just buy a MT, plus I am attached to this one.

So, I am wondering if any one has done it? Any caveats? Seems like it should be as easy as finding a donor and getting the parts. I assume most of the necessary holes and mounting points are there already. Any help on completing the list of needed parts would be appreciated. Does the 6MT use a different computer?

Shopping List:
Tranny
Flywheel
Clutch
Mounts?
Clutch pedal/Cylinder assembly
Hoses/Slave
Console (may just modify exist'g)
Drive shaft? (probably get the exist'g chopped if different length)
Linkage/shifter

anything else?

Thanks!

Old 09-03-2006, 08:46 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Originally Posted by HwyDrftr
Hi All,

OK, I know I am a noob here and you'll probably think I am crazy, but I am seriously considering converting my 5AT over to a 6MT. When I bought my 2004 there just wasn't a 6MT to be had in all of socal. I had considered going out of state to get the the MT but when my Maxima finally died I settled on a Leather AT. I have done some work to this car and some damage so I doubt I could get enough out of it to sell it and just buy a MT, plus I am attached to this one.