G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

05 Warranty about to expire??

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-07-2008, 04:19 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
05 Warranty about to expire??

I just bought my 05 on Wednesday, and my warranty expires in 2000 miles. The Infiniti dealer in Shreveport quoted me $1800 for the 4/100,000 warranty, which they said mirrors the manu. warranty - bumper to bumper. However, my hubby is a mechanic (by hobby now, he didn't want to do that all day and burn himself out so he is not by trade anymore) and can fix almost anything. I have never had an Infin before, and know the parts can run pretty pricey - I'm used to buying for an Eclipse. I have also NEVER owned a car with a warranty, kinda nice not having to ask him to fix things ...I am learning to do it myself, everytime he is in the garage.
Any advice??
PS, I would like to do some upgrades eventually too, cai, exhaust, etc. That would void it anyway, wouldn't it? So if I do get the warranty, I would either resort to parts that can be removed, or wait 42k more miles to do anything....

Last edited by AJaxx80; 10-11-2008 at 03:31 AM.
Old 10-07-2008, 04:58 PM
Received 162 Likes on 132 Posts
The factory warranty is valid even with aftermarket parts unless they can prove the part in question is what caused the problem. An additional warranty might be different because they usually make you sign an agreement stating you will not modify the car in any way. If you do the warranty is void. I would look to see if they want you to sign something like this and if you plan on modding your car I would not get it.

Old 10-07-2008, 06:49 PM
Received 62 Likes on 52 Posts
hey aleast you have 2000 miles, i bought my car and i had literally 3 days left on the warranty, i took it in for the rear bolts, rear seat loose, i tried to BS about the compression rods but no go ( i didn't have the problem but i figure it can happen downt he road).