G35 Sedan V35 2003-06 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Sedan

Overheating dilemma, looking for a G35 expert mechanic in the New England area.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-25-2023, 04:30 PM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
G35 Sedan Leather
Overheating dilemma, looking for a G35 expert mechanic in the New England area.

Hello forum. I’m Jeff.

I have a very nice 2003 G35 sedan (209K miles, runs great) with no rust and a body in like-new condition but I’m experiencing persistent overheating with boiling at the cooling reservoir. All the parts you’d expect to be replaced have been. New radiator, water pump, thermostat, heater core, and temp sensor. It’s not leaking. It has no codes. No CEL illuminated. It’s been to the dealership and they cannot resolve my issue. This car is too nice to let go. I still love her and want to save her but I don’t know who to turn to. I’m not a mechanic so it’s pointless telling me how to try and fix it. I need a G doctor. If there’s such a guy. The dealership says the engine block is blocked and they can’t flush/clear it adequately. Could be true I guess. They say I need a new engine. Nah. They blame my use of a radiator stop leak product a few years ago. I don’t know what to think about that. Another mechanic who hasn’t seen the car yet (he’s swamped) thinks it’s the head gasket but won’t do the job even if it that’s the culprit. I don’t think I have any of the symptoms of a bad head gasket. But I do need to have a mechanic test for that I guess. I can still drive the car when it’s cold for a while. Heat will work and the temp gauge will stay normal. The more heat that builds up with driving, the more likely the gauge is to start climbing, heat to be lost and the coolant reservoir is to fill up and start boiling. I’m actively monitoring these and not pushing the car past its current limits. When it’s too hot I stop driving it, open up the radiator cap and overflow reservoir cap to let the heat out more quickly and I’ve