G35 Sedan V36 2007- 08 Discussion about the 2nd Generation G35 Sedan 2007 - 08

Paddle Shifters

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-28-2007, 11:19 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Paddle Shifters

For those of you who have the paddle shifters on your G how do the paddle shifters feel for everyday use versus shifting from the transmision shifter. Reason I'm asking is because the transmission shifter on the G35 is position ideally. The height is perfect and you don't need to overly reach for it. To me it appears that using the transmission shifter instead of the paddle shifter would feel better. Specially since the paddle shifter don't move with the steering wheel.

And before someone suggest that I buy a manual I've been driving nothing but manual since 1983. I just don't enjoy it as much for everyday driving / commuting any more.

Thanks.

Old 09-28-2007, 11:47 AM
Disclaimer: Only based on my (numerous) test drives & friend's car etc etc

Paddle is much nicer to use to shift - your hands stay on the wheel. Also its cooler since shifting the actual shifter is old school (like a manual tranny) - this one feels F1ish haha

Also I don't really prefer shifting half-way into a corner -- feels like it throws the car off balance (esp in fast corners) - so the paddle not moving with the wheel doesn't bother me too much.

PS: You don't have to defend your decision on buying an auto - its all a matter of preference (much like the color) -- and only 10-15% of the Gs are 6MTs - so you are in the majority

Old 09-28-2007, 11:53 AM
Traveling Administrator
Received 175 Likes on 102 Posts
^ Whs!

Old 09-28-2007, 02:06 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post