G35 Sedan V36 2007- 08 Discussion about the 2nd Generation G35 Sedan 2007 - 08

Battery Disconnected / MPG

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-18-2010, 12:25 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Battery Disconnected / MPG

So last week, I had t disconnect the negative terminal of the battery to reset some dash board lights after the "you know what" mod.

After a week of driving and a tank of gas, my MPG dropped significantly after I disconnet and reconnect the battery.

I was averaging 21.5MPG before and last tank, which is my routine work commute everyday that I had been driving for the last 4 months, is only giving me 18MPG.

Are those two things related? Will disconnecting the negative terminal of the battery reset the ECU? And it will have to learn my driving style again? Any suggestions on how to get my MPG back or any other suggestion? Thank you in advance.

Old 11-18-2010, 12:55 PM
Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts
i found this very strange my self! but mine had the opposite affect, my MPG went waaayy up? haha I was barely able to hit 250 to a tank all city, this tank will be closer to 350? pretty confused myself

Old 11-18-2010, 01:48 PM
Received 47 Likes on 46 Posts
Originally Posted by jelloman
So last week, I had t disconnect the negative terminal of the battery to reset some dash board lights after the "you know what" mod.

After a week of driving and a tank of gas, my MPG dropped significantly after I disconnet and reconnect the battery.

I was averaging 21.5MPG before and last tank, which is my routine work commute everyday that I had been driving for the last 4 months, is only giving me 18MPG.

Are those two things related? Will disconnecting the negative terminal of the battery reset the ECU? And it will have to learn my driving style again? Any suggestions on how to get my MPG back or any other suggestion? Thank you in advance.