G35 Sedan V36 2007- 08 Discussion about the 2nd Generation G35 Sedan 2007 - 08

More transmission concerns....

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-25-2011, 10:16 PM
-MN G Crew-

Received 205 Likes on 157 Posts
More transmission concerns....

I have very little experience with 6mt G35s so i have 0 clue what is normal for it. All I know is, the two 04 G35 sedan 6mts that me and a friend test drove today did not make the same noises as my car.

1. The flywheel chatters so badly. I have no idea if its normal or not... just whines. You can even hear it when driving around neighborhoods at low speeds.

2. Some times if I am idling around in a parking lot, and am on or off the clutch and say, pull over to look at a car or something, then put it in N and pull the E brake, the car makes so much fricken noise that my friend commented and said it sounds like the car is knocking. Push the clutch it and it goes away. Same thing happens after I have to ride the clutch a bit to get into and up my driveway slowly. Sounds like a diesel when I let it sit there in neutral.

3. When I stop to park the car and leave it in neutral then turn it off, no noise, if it is in 1 or 2, the car will some times grind as its turning off. Sounds terrible.

4. My gear box gets notchy as hell occasionally and some times grinds. Like today, I sped up to 4500-5k then shifted to 2nd and it just made such an aweful sound, grinded like ****, then allowed me to slip it into 2nd, and after tha,t each gear change was really notchy, and almost heavy.

Neither of the 04s we drove today did this, so im not sure. A local guy just traded in his 07 M45 for a 2011 G37 6mt sedan today and I want to try and get together with him to see if his car makes all these drivetrain noises.