2nd Gen Random Little Question Thread! - Page 4 - G35Driver - Infiniti G35 & G37 Forum Discussion

G35 Sedan V36 2007- 08 Discussion about the 2nd Generation G35 Sedan 2007 - 08

2nd Gen Random Little Question Thread!

  #46  
Old 01-17-2012, 12:06 PM
rpm&my_G35's Avatar
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Waterloo, Ont.
Posts: 3,863
Thanked 114 Times in 108 Posts
Originally Posted by bwalsh View Post
Can you play DVD's through our Navi? I have heard 20 different things and there's gotta be a way to make it happen. Probably a stupid ? that has been brought up too many times but if anyone can help me out let me know. thanks!
Do you mean by putting a DVD in the dash or connecting a DVD player?
The 2007 - 2009 head unit will not play a DVD. The 2010+ will.
You can connect a DVD player to the RCA jacks (if you have them, they come with the premium pkg) in the armrest and watch/listen to media on the LCD screen. Select AUX and have your car parked with the emergency brake applied.
 
The Following User Says Thank You to rpm&my_G35 For This Useful Post:
luger303 (01-18-2012)
  #47  
Old 01-17-2012, 12:30 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Originally Posted by rpm&my_G35 View Post
Do you mean by putting a DVD in the dash or connecting a DVD player?
The 2007 - 2009 head unit will not play a DVD. The 2010+ will.
You can connect a DVD player to the RCA jacks (if you have them, they come with the premium pkg) in the armrest and watch/listen to media on the LCD screen. Select AUX and have your car parked with the emergency brake applied.
Or you can apply the bypass and watch them anytime you want.
 
  #48  
Old 01-17-2012, 03:12 PM
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SF bayarea (925)
Posts: 3,946
Thanked 418 Times in 362 Posts
Originally Posted by 07IvoryPearlG35 View Post
Or you can apply the bypass and watch them anytime you want.
taboo topic
 
  #49  
Old 01-17-2012, 03:16 PM
rpm&my_G35's Avatar
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Waterloo, Ont.
Posts: 3,863
Thanked 114 Times in 108 Posts
Originally Posted by 07IvoryPearlG35 View Post
Or you can apply the bypass and watch them anytime you want.
I am well aware of it and also well aware of the forum rule on the subject.
 
  #50  
Old 01-27-2012, 01:21 PM
Registered User
iTrader: (2)
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: CT
Posts: 296
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Good idea

Good idea for this little forum man. Thanks
 
  #51  
Old 02-13-2012, 11:59 PM
Wannabe6MT's Avatar
-MN G Crew-

Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fargo ND/Eden Prairie MN
Posts: 21,010
Thanked 202 Times in 154 Posts
Has anyone had the dealer clean their TBs? Normally i'd do something like this, but messing about with the engine makes me a wee bit nervous and I don't want to mess something up. The car tends to drop in its idle which makes me think the TBs need to be cleaned. just wondering what a dealer might charge for this??
 
  #52  
Old 02-14-2012, 03:45 AM
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SF bayarea (925)
Posts: 3,946
Thanked 418 Times in 362 Posts
^^ Nope, never had (nor needed) it done, but my guess is that a dealer would hit you up for at least $200+.
 
  #53  
Old 02-14-2012, 05:31 PM
Wannabe6MT's Avatar
-MN G Crew-

Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fargo ND/Eden Prairie MN
Posts: 21,010
Thanked 202 Times in 154 Posts
My dealer quoted me $125 for an entire fuel delivery system service which includes the TB... not entirely sure what that entails though.
 
  #54  
Old 02-14-2012, 05:33 PM
Wannabe6MT's Avatar
-MN G Crew-

Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fargo ND/Eden Prairie MN
Posts: 21,010
Thanked 202 Times in 154 Posts
Another question!!

So today I tried to investigate a noise under the hood. Went to take off my engine cover and discovered my center bolt that holds it down starts to hiss when i take it out and the revs fluctuate and drop. What the hell. My 05 never did that and i didn't think that on this car either??? Anyone care to chime in on that??
 
  #55  
Old 02-14-2012, 06:51 PM
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SF bayarea (925)
Posts: 3,946
Thanked 418 Times in 362 Posts
Originally Posted by Wannabe6MT View Post
My dealer quoted me $125 for an entire fuel delivery system service which includes the TB... not entirely sure what that entails though.
Ask if that includes physically disconnecting both throttle bodies and manually cleaning them, or if it's just a chemical treatment.


Originally Posted by Wannabe6MT View Post
Another question!!

So today I tried to investigate a noise under the hood. Went to take off my engine cover and discovered my center bolt that holds it down starts to hiss when i take it out and the revs fluctuate and drop. What the hell. My 05 never did that and i didn't think that on this car either??? Anyone care to chime in on that??
Haven't heard of that before, but it sure sounds like it's opening the intake manifold (vacuum leak). I wouldn't let it run like that for very long or you'll throw a CEL for the un-metered air.
 
  #56  
Old 02-14-2012, 08:02 PM
Wannabe6MT's Avatar
-MN G Crew-

Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fargo ND/Eden Prairie MN
Posts: 21,010
Thanked 202 Times in 154 Posts
Nobody has tried to take off their engine covers when its running though???
 
  #57  
Old 02-14-2012, 08:22 PM
Registered User
iTrader: (1)
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: SF bayarea (925)
Posts: 3,946
Thanked 418 Times in 362 Posts
Originally Posted by Wannabe6MT View Post
Nobody has tried to take off their engine covers when its running though???
I haven't. Maybe you could put that bolt back in to seal it up while you're diagnosing the problem.
 
  #58  
Old 02-15-2012, 01:58 AM
Wannabe6MT's Avatar
-MN G Crew-

Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fargo ND/Eden Prairie MN
Posts: 21,010
Thanked 202 Times in 154 Posts
Well i did because the car was like, about to die without it haha.
 
  #59  
Old 02-16-2012, 10:41 PM
Wannabe6MT's Avatar
-MN G Crew-

Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Fargo ND/Eden Prairie MN
Posts: 21,010
Thanked 202 Times in 154 Posts
Anyone with a 6MT run Amsoil in their transmissions??
 
  #60  
Old 03-02-2012, 11:36 AM
GXXXV X's Avatar
Registered User
iTrader: (10)
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 1,600
Thanked 66 Times in 61 Posts
Didn't wanna start a new thread on this, but would a leaking exhaust gasket affect performance at all?
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:
You have already rated this thread Rating: Thread Rating: 0 votes,  average.

Quick Reply: 2nd Gen Random Little Question Thread!


Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: