Notices
Interior & Exterior Exterior Modifications ; Interior Modifications ; Lighting ; Gauges and More
Sponsored By:
Sponsored By:

Headlight restoration success

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-19-2010, 09:46 PM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Headlight restoration success

Well, my neighbor's g/f let me do her Jeep's headlights for free since I'm just starting out and still experimenting. I tried some 600 wet/dry and it wasn't even scratching the surface (no pun intended). Knowing my arm would fall off before any progress was made, I ran to Home Depot for some coarser grit (150/220/300). I wasn't able to get all of the crazing out but the major damage was eliminated. I followed up with the 600/1500/2400/PB SSR 3/Diamondite Plastic Enhancer/Spar Urethane Mix. I had to remove the first application of the Urethane because it would not self level correctly but the second attempt came out pretty good. On the driver's headlight, I was rushed so I have some sanding marks from the first few grades of sandpaper. A little more time and I could've come out like glass. Overall, I'm very happy with the passenger light. I'm sure the neighbor and his g/f are happy compared to what they looked like before and won't mind the sanding marks. After all, it was FREE. From start the finish, it took about 3 1/2 hours. 30 mins was to Home Depot and about another 30 mins spinning my wheels with the initial 600 grit. Anyways I'll let the pics speak for themselves and any input is appreciated....

Old 07-19-2010, 09:48 PM
ill Sedan

Received 2,687 Likes on 1,448 Posts
Night and day difference, nice work. You'll only improve upon your technique with more practice.

Old 07-19-2010, 10:02 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts