Wheels & Tires Grabbing the road and stopping.

Sedan Replacement Tires

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-18-2004, 06:44 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Sedan Replacement Tires

In my review of the discussion on replacement tires, it appears that much has been discussed. I am a highway driver and love the way the car seems to "ride on rails", but would like to improve on the wet handling and reduce tire noise when replacing the stock Goodyer GS-D tires. I will not be driving the car hard, so can use an all season touring rather than summer only tire. Research at Tire Rack shows mixed reviews on the Michelin Pilot Sport A/S, although I can get them fairly reasonably priced at the local SAMS Club. I have found also good reviews on the Bridgestone Turanza LS, but they are pricey in my town (Tulsa, OK). Both would be 235 50 R17 on stock sport wheels. I assume either would give better wet performance but profile change may not improve ride or noise.
Has anyone had experience with the Toyo Proxes TPT, which is now available in stock size (215 55 R17), at a bit better price than the Michelin locally? I would love to hear anyone comment on this tire vs the other two. Thank you for your help.

Old 06-20-2004, 08:30 AM
Re: Sedan Replacement Tires

Highly recommend the Michelins !

The Prisoner
------ We want information ...

2004 G35 Sedan AT w/ Premium, Leather, Wood, Sport & Michelin Pilot Sport A/S @ 235/50ZR17 on Stock Rims

Old 06-20-2004, 11:04 AM
Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Wet handling is primarily a function of very soft fast wearing tread compounds.[160 vs 300 or ugh 400 wear index].....in the same speed rating......Directional or conventional patterns have almost no variance except in turning near [just under] the hydroplane speed [direct function of inflation pressure].

Contrary to what most think and the advertising hype.