Audio, Video & Electronics Post questions, reviews, and other general info about the G's Nav, sound system, or satellite radio
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Parasitic draw

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-25-2014, 11:46 AM
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Parasitic draw

Last year I had a Viper 5904 installed. I used a FLCAN module, with tilt sensor, and glass break sensor. But i have been seeing a big loss in battery life. I replaced the battery with a costco one. And have already replaced that one under warranty once because it didn't fix my problem.

Alternator, and starter all checked out yesterday so my charging system is fine.

1st question is how do i test for a parasitic draw? I have never used a multimeter before? What are the settings needed?

2nd question what is a typical draw for a car alarm?

3rd how to confront the installer? I called him last year regarding the problem. He blamed my battery being bad. And that he had a customer have to replace it 5 times under warranty before his problem went away.

Tired of jumping my car all the time.

Old 03-25-2014, 11:56 AM
Super Moderator

Received 1,018 Likes on 936 Posts
Usually it is because they tapped the wrong wire into a yellow wire (constant power) and it's causing this issue. I'm not familiar with G35 auto starts, where did he place the start module?

As for multimeter, is yours a simply a digital one with a tester for voltage, resistance, and amperage?

Old 03-25-2014, 11:57 AM
Super Moderator

If you know where it is, take out the fuse that connects your alarm/auto start system to power. If your draw issue persists it's not the alarm (first and easiest check).

Old 03-25-2014, 12:16 PM
Well i just fried my multimeter. I was trying to test it at the house. I was reading a page online, set it to ac test, plugged my probes into the meter, and tried to test a socket and it went poof and my probe wire is now separated from the probe itself.

And no, i have no idea where the brain was installed.