G35 Coupe V35 2003 - 07 Discussion about the 1st Generation V35 G35 Coupe

Please help with my 05 coupe!!

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-18-2017, 12:07 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Please help with my 05 coupe!!

I recently bought my second G35. This time i got a 2005 5AT coupe. I have been driving it perfectly for the last 2-3 months. Only changed about 2 months ago with fully synthetic. No lights at all for those months. Last night, i started the car and it took 2 cranks to fully start since the first one didnt ignite it. I thought nothing of it and thought it was because of the weather (Toronto).

I drove it for about 10 minutes and came to a red light. The SES, oil, and a bunch of other lights came on and the car stalled out and wouldnt turn back on. I still had gas and the battery still had juice.

Here is an example of what my car sounded like (not my video):

I have read posts about the 2 cam sensors but none of them said anything about low oil light coming on. My car would not restart. It is currently sitting. I tried to boost it and restart but nothing.

Extra: Prior to this incident, no lights were on the dash. Synthetic oil was used, 91 gas, HKS exhaust.

I appreciate all the help!

Last edited by brandon2k; 01-18-2017 at 12:13 PM.
Old 01-18-2017, 12:56 PM
I think the oil light is only coming on since you have the car in start position. I would try the cam sensors Ive replaced mine about 4 times since Ive owned my G in 2011

Old 01-18-2017, 01:57 PM
Received 167 Likes on 147 Posts
Did you try scanning for codes? Does the RPM needle jump when you crank it? Is the security light flashing/solid, etc..

Need a little more info.

Old 01-22-2017, 11:29 PM
Received 22 Likes on 22 Posts
Umm...The answer you want is in the description in the video you linked. I would start there.

'Solved. - bad driver side camshaft position sensor. popped new one in, runs like new!'

The following users liked this post:
Blue Dream (01-23-2017)
Old 01-23-2017, 05:02 AM