Wheels & Tires Grabbing the road and stopping.

Screw Pepboys or my negligence? (blown tires in less than two months)

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-14-2016, 02:00 AM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Screw Pepboys or my negligence? (blown tires in less than two months)

Hey guys, lurker since I got my G in the summer (around June-July) I wanna say. Haven't done much to it other than intake, spacer, rims, and a grounding kit. I wish I had pictures but I literally saved every other snapchat than my car's demise...

I have a TL;DR at the bottom for those of you that want to skip my melodramatic story lol

Formatted this for readability as best as I could. I apologized to the mods if I have already broken rules...

Let me rant for a little bit. Screw Pepboys.

--- THE BEGINNING ---

I know this may have been my fault, but basically I bought 4 rims from them (XXR's, but I'm a broke college student) and they were like, "Well your rear tires are good but we have to change the fronts or they won't make it."

So I was like whatever, they probably know better than me, I'm new to this car stuff. The guy at the computer asks me if I want an alignment, I say no because he says very nonchalant, "we recommend it," and I had been sitting at the Starbucks next door for like 4 or 5 hours at this point. He didn't put my car on the machine and show me how every wheel on my car was angled a different direction. IMPORTANT: My 4 rims and 2 new front tires were put on around August 22nd.

A couple of months go buy and I'm getting a weird vibration above 15 mph on the front passenger side. I ignore it until I'm walking out of the gas station on my way to work when this guy goes, "Hey buddy your front tire's about to blow."

I was like "Uhhh, thanks," and proceed to look at my car.

Metal bands are coming through on the far side of the tire. I was like what in the world, I have never seen a tire do that.