Circuit Sport (Alutec) Strut Bar

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-29-2010, 07:54 PM
Received 213 Likes on 156 Posts
Circuit Sport (Alutec) Strut Bar

I had the liberty of being able to “score” this one for a fairly reasonably price, thanks in part to the phenomenon that is Black Friday. Here are some photos of the product. My initial comment is…

… that this thing is very well built. I’m impressed by the welds and just the overall feel of the piece. I’ve never handled a strut bar this well made in the past (I have had other cars prior to the G35 you know). It’s also very lightweight, mainly because the whole piece is made out of aluminum. In one of the photos there’s a spot with three holes that if you look really closely in real life, you’ll see the triple chambers advertised by CS.

Updates on post #10.

http://gshack.org/?p=241

postscript: I'm no engineer, but i've always felt that solid bars were better than the typical design of strut bars with the bolts holding the middle section to the end plates. Given that i got this for roughly 3/4 the price of a competing brand, i've really got nothing to lose Just a word of caution, this apparently won't work with CAI's because of how the pipes come out of the TB's. Edit: mishmosh just confirmed it fits over his CAI with plenty of space to spare, thanks m!

Last edited by soundmike; 12-18-2010 at 09:51 AM.
Old 11-29-2010, 07:59 PM
From Alutec's site:

Material –

The mounting is used by aerospace quality aluminum material. Its high hardness provides reinforcement between the top of the shock absorber and the body. This can prevent the shape changed. For the material that we use for bar is Aluminum 6061, which is more flexible than Aluminum 7005. Due to its give, the structure of the bar won’t
be changed when the bar and the car body are pulling and dragging.

Weight –

By using aerospace quality aluminum material, the weight is controlled around 1.5KG to achieve lightweight

Structure –