question about height adjustment for the coilover guys

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-26-2010, 05:31 PM
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
question about height adjustment for the coilover guys

Hey guys. Tried searching for this but never came up with a clearcut answer...

I just installed my BC racing coilovers (first set of coilovers, so I'm a noob when it comes to them) and am trying to adjust the height on the rears. They have the OEM setup. I'm trying to raise the rear and want to double-check that i'm doing things correctly. I've basically lengthened the shock and when doing that have been trying to lengthen the spring perch by the same amount (about 1/2"). Is that the way to go higher in the rear?? How do I know I'm not preloading the rear springs too much?

Old 05-26-2010, 06:34 PM
Received 25 Likes on 22 Posts
I would like to hear an informative response to this as well. I've never had a specific way to do this apart from the same method that the OP listed above. Seems so archaic...

Old 05-26-2010, 11:28 PM
I actually did some more searching and came up with a pretty good link over at myg37. Here's the link:

rear BC coilover adjust

Anyway, I think the way that I've been doing it has been correct, the BCs just sit sooo low in the rear from the factory. I've almost got no rear spring perch left to lengthen and the bottom of the fender is still at the top of the rear tire. Not ready to run that low just yet.

Old 05-26-2010, 11:30 PM
JBF
Received 686 Likes on 365 Posts
in for pics...

Old 05-26-2010, 11:51 PM
bump for some informative answers to OPs questions...

Old 05-26-2010, 11:54 PM
JBF
The perfect spot on the strut for compression would be dead center if the car were not lowered. Measure it out by the 'droop' you have when the car is being jacked.

I have about 2" of droop and its perfect...

Old 05-27-2010, 12:25 AM